Gratitude

A good friend of mine came across an idea on a blog she read and thought it might be something for some of our girlfriends to do together. The idea? We email each other with five things we’re grateful for everyday, as an exercise to get us into a more positive head space.

I believe for most people, it’s very easy to think negatively, think the worst, say things such as, “why does this always happen to me?”, or believe that things aren’t fair when it comes to a job, a relationship or different life occurrences. I admit, I’m guilty of thinking and saying those things at times – it’s hard not to.

Now, I consider myself a pretty happy person. I can’t speak for everyone, but I think by doing a gratitude list for myself everyday will start to open the doors for more positive things to happen in my life. I’m starting today and looking forward to seeing how doing this everyday will change my outlook on life.

In the spirit of the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday, it’s a good reminder for me of how much in my life is good, great, wonderful – even (especially) on days when everything seems to be going wrong. The five things I’m grateful for  today are my family (Mom, Dad, Brian, Crystal), my closest and dearest friends (you know who you are , but to list a few: Caryn, Meredith, Abbey, Helen, Stephanie , Laura and Alyssa), my job, the roof over my head  and smiling everyday. 🙂

What are you happy and grateful for??
Leave a Reply

