Recipe From P90X – Lemon Garlic Chicken

I just completed my first week on P90x and so far I feel great! I got up every morning and worked out to one of the DVD’s that the program came with. Plyometrics was by far the hardest and the one that made me hardly be able to walk for a few days. I don’t think my calves have ever hurt so bad before in my life and I’ve played competitive tennis since I was 5! Makes me feel like I was “bustin’ it” in my terms.

I must say it’s a good thing that I enjoy cooking because I was in the kitchen cooking my meals all the time and it became very time consuming. I wanted to share one of my favorite meals that I enjoyed this week. It’s tasty and very low in calories and fat. Let me know what you think of it! Enjoy!

Lemon-Garlic Chicken

-1/4 c. fresh lemon juice

-2 tbsp molasses

-2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

-4 garlic cloves, chopped

-2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts or thighs

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/4 tsp black pepper

-lemon wedges

-parsley sprigs

Combine first 4 ingredients in a nonreactive dish and add chicken. Cover and marinate in refrigerator 1 hour, turning occasionally. Preheat over to 425 degrees. Remove chicken from dish, reserving marinade, and arrange in a shallow roasting pan coated with cooking spray. Pour reserved marinade over chicken; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes, basting occasionally with marinade. Bake without basting for 20 minutes more or until chicken is done. Serve with lemon wedges and garnish with parsley, if desired.

Serves 3

(Per serving:  153 calories, 4 g fat, 21 g protein, 8 g carbohydrate, 86 mg cholesterol, 219 mg sodium)

Leave a Reply

